Facebook is finally rolling out the ability to remove sent messages from Messenger worldwide. The feature is in the latest version of the Messenger app on iOS and Android, Facebook said Tuesday. "The tool now only lets businesses control messages coming from Facebook Messenger". From there you can choose to remove it from just your phone or from everyone in the chat. Messenger users will have a 10-minute window after sending a message to undo it.
Facebook said it would also allow users to report any harmful messages which are sent and then deleted for a limited time in order to prevent abuse of the feature.
Recipients will receive a text alert telling them that something was deleted from the chat, and recipients can still see and read the messages you've "unsent" via that notification.
Most of us would have accidentally sent a message to a wrong person or mistyped something during a chat.More news: Trump's State of the Union Expected to Underscore Political Rancor
When users expressed disappointment that Facebook granted more power to higher-up users, Facebook announced they would limit Zuckerberg's powers until they could offer it to everyone else. Once "removed", the message will not reappear in the draft space. It's similar to the process above, except you'll tap "Remove for You". But you better act fast - the grace period lasts only 10 minutes.
Facebook Messenger will also let you remove messages for yourself.
"Previously, Facebook's employee bonus formula was based on six factors, including user growth, increased sharing by users, and improvements in product quality".
The Facebook announcement states that this new feature launches today!